Assessment and Grades Policy

Assessment Policy

The Healing Zone Training Centre uses three main forms of assessment each with its own purpose:

Day-to-day formative assessment used by educators to evaluate learner’s knowledge and understanding on a daily basis and to tailor teaching accordingly.

  • In class, discussions on a subject or part of a subject
  • Questions to recap on subjects and modules taught
  • Quizzes and or written tests
  • Assignments
  • Case studies
  • Homework

Formative assessments are designed to understand the learning and knowledge of each learner and to highlight what possible gaps in their learning, they need to focus on, study more and or discuss with their educator about.

Formative assessments also provide for the educators to a level of understanding that has been achieved and to provide insightful feed back to the learner.  To also support the learner better in the program and to guide in a more detailed manner, where additional focus and learning is required.

Summative assessments are with the following

  • Assignments – criteria to meet is given by the awarding body, and the learner is required to research the topic and write their own assignment in a professional manner. This submitted in their learners portfolio.
  • Portfolio submission – the first step of the final exam
    • Portfolio submission dates are to be adhered to as there are no late submissions accepted
    • Any work in the portfolio that does not meet the pass mark of 60% and requires additional work by the learner will be handed back. A re-submission date will be given, and no late submissions are accepted.

Should the work still not achieve the pass mark of 60% the learner will not be allowed to sit their final exams and will be asked to resubmit at the next schedule exam date

  • Theory and practical exams are conducted by an external examiner only appointed by the awarding body.

Grades and marks are given by the awarding body and certificates issued by them also.

In the unfortunate situation that you need to resit exams, additional exams fees will be required to be paid.  The same exams can only be retaken a maximum of three times or within two years.  After three failed attempts or after two years, the student will be required to retake the entire program and pay the full fees again, for the qualifications failed.  These regulations are the awarding body regulations CIBTAC.